Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-06-2011, 12:44 PM   #1

k10d or k100

Ok so let me ask another question do i go for the k10d on craigslist or buy a refurbished k100 for bestbuy for 269.95 saying i can buy the k10 for between 250.00 to 300.00 ofr maybe even wait and save my money some more and buy something brand new with some more pixels , my problem is i have big hands and it seems that the newer cameras are smaller in size than say the k10d or the k100. i am just starting out in the slr world of digital and do not need anything real fancy with lots of bells and whistles.

thanks
john

06-06-2011, 02:31 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I would suggest that if you want a more professional, weather-sealed body, then the K10D is a decent buy. If you do not need weather resistance or extra customisations of 2 e-dials and other features at your fingertips, then I wouldn't recommend either. I would rather suggest the K-x, which has considerably better high ISO performance than both the K10D and K100D, plus double the resolution of the K100D. The K-x is everything you'll need, including many professional features you may later be interested in, without the professional price tag. A second hand one can be found on the forum for around $350, and new ones not much more than that.

The K-x is not a big camera, but then the K100D isn't big either.
If you want a bigger better-balanced camera, the K10D and K20D are the best budget buys you'll find.
06-08-2011, 09:41 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery
I think the best buy K100 refurb is a little over-priced, remember you also have to go buy a lens for it. It is otherwise a good camera if somewhat older.