Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-15-2007, 09:39 PM   #1

Using a Canon550ex on my K100D

I admittedly I don't know anything about flashes, but I figure it's time I get one and start learning. I've been offered a used Canon 550EX speedlight for under $100, which seems like a good deal to my uninformed brain. Basically, just wanted to check w/ y'all here to see if any of you knew of any potential compatibility / functionality problems with using this flash on my Pentax K100D.

Like I said, I am completely new to flash photography. I'd get one of the penatx flashes if I had the cash, but I don't. On the surface this seems like a good deal.

11-16-2007, 01:17 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't think it'll work. For a bit more money ($110) you can get a digital concepts flash which is p-ttl or for less than $100 you can get the vivitar 285hv, which is very powerful but it's not a p-ttl flash.

QuoteOriginally posted by rjdesq Quote
I admittedly I don't know anything about flashes, but I figure it's time I get one and start learning. I've been offered a used Canon 550EX speedlight for under $100, which seems like a good deal to my uninformed brain. Basically, just wanted to check w/ y'all here to see if any of you knew of any potential compatibility / functionality problems with using this flash on my Pentax K100D.

Like I said, I am completely new to flash photography. I'd get one of the penatx flashes if I had the cash, but I don't. On the surface this seems like a good deal.
11-16-2007, 03:08 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
It will probably only work in manual mode,which means none of the advanced features of the flash will work. I could not tell whether the flash has it's own on board sensor or not, so probably no auto thyristor mode either.

I think you would be better off with a p-ttl flash, or something like the Vivitar 285hv or the Sunpack 383. Both are under US$100 at B & H.