Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2007, 07:56 AM   #1

Buying the Pentax KD10 or....

Hello,

I was thinking about buying the Pentax KD10 DSLR. I was using a Pentax film SLR prior to this and that one gave me fantastic results. Unfortunately I dropped that while trying to take a picture being balanced precariously and thats shattered the shutter mirror and casued damage to the body to the extent that it wont turn on now. Fortunately the lens is still intact (which is a huge surprise).

Anyway, I was comparing the KD10 to the Canon Rebel XTi, Nikon D80 and the Leica V-Lux 1. I'm still an amateur photographer and cant spend much time on photography (mostly weekends and the occasional holidays). The Nikon D80 is more expensive than the KD10 and much more delicate than the Pentax. The Canon though is more popular is very toy-like which I dont like. I also compared some of the pictures of the XTi and the KD10 and i'm more impressed with the Pentax. The Leica is one camera that really impressed me because of the lens though there arent many user reviews about the main camera body and the functioning aspects of it.

I was hoping I could get some more pointers on choosing the right cam and also if anyone could corroborate these points.

Thanks again!

Best,
HPB

11-24-2007, 11:22 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Everyone here will of course tell you to buy the K10D, since that's the point of this forum. And it is also of course the right answer , but what in specific would you like to hear about? What's your total budget, and what existing Pentax lenses do you have?