Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2007, 11:25 AM   #1
Inactive Account

K100D vis-a-vis K10D

I bought a K100D earlier on in the year and find it a superb camera in every way. I have always used Pentax film cameras so was predisposed to the new digital anyway, but it has surpassed my expectations, not least in pleaureable handling and ease of use. This is vital to me as I am an artist making photomontages and collages rather than a photographer per se, and cart the thing around with me all the time and in many differing situations. I have been considering acquiring a K10D instead as I sometimes exhibit at A3 and above, and do a fair amount of cropping. However, the K10D does look a bit more cumbersome and is weightier. Will the extra pixels make a significant difference to the non-photocritical eye to the extent that the 500 quid or so will be worth laying out on a new camera rather than on more 2nd hand lenses (old SLR type rather than digital) for example? And what other advantages might the K10D have for me as an artist?

11-24-2007, 01:12 PM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
My wife has the K100D and I have the K10D. There is no difference in results to the non photocritical eye, and very little to the photocritical.

Yes the K100D is marginally lighter than the K10D - but when I use her camera I really miss the extra features on mine. The K10D is just an awesome camera. The difference is that the K100 is an entry level and the K10 an expert level camera- that's just below pro level.

I suggest downloading the K10 manual and comparing the difference to your K100.

You can download it here: http://tinyurl.com/2thmhe

Rusty
11-24-2007, 01:56 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
ch reply