Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-27-2007, 01:51 PM   #1

Continuous Mode - best settings for performance

I just ordered a K10d which will arrive tomorrow

It will be my first digital still camera (I'm a filmmaker and have shot digital video for 8 years). I sold my film SLR last year and have shot still and motion picture film on/off since I was a kid.

I will be using my K10d for regular still photography but will also be using it for a special form of filmmaking I invented. The method involves shooting still photos at around 3fps and using specialized software (Twixtor inside Adobe After Effects to create 24fps). You can see my first effort shot with film SLR and 3fps motordrive here: YouTube - Crisp Yellow Flowers

I will be using mostly manual focus at around 1/50th shutter speed. I assume I can turn off noise reduction. Any other settings to turn off to improve speed? I did order Sandisk Extreme III cards.

11-27-2007, 02:09 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
OOOhhhhh gawd, ANOTHER ARTIST!?!?!?!?.....

Interesting, maybe evocative in a small way; but a word of advise: be careful of claims of invention, discovery, creation---slow scan video has been around quite a while.

QuoteOriginally posted by stephenv2 Quote

It will be my first digital still camera (I'm a filmmaker and have shot digital video for 8 years). I sold my film SLR last year and have shot still and motion picture film on/off since I was a kid.

I will be using my K10d for regular still photography but will also be using it for a special form of filmmaking I invented. The method involves shooting still photos at around 3fps and using specialized software (Twixtor inside Adobe After Effects to create 24fps). You can see my first effort shot with film SLR and 3fps motordrive here: YouTube - Crisp Yellow Flowers