Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-19-2011, 05:49 AM   #1
Junior Member




Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 27
Soligor 300mm f5.5

I bought a cheap used Soligor 300mm f5.5 Pentax K mount. First, do you think it's a good lense?


I have tried to take some photos with the teleconvert and without but they seem to still come out a bit dark, even with the apture fully open.

Maybe i'm not using the lense properly? Your thoughts.

Last photo with teleconverter.

Attached Images
     
08-19-2011, 05:53 AM   #2
Pentaxian
ducdao's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal/Vermont
Posts: 2,160
QuoteOriginally posted by Ducks Quote
I bought a cheap used Soligor 300mm f5.5 Pentax K mount. First, do you think it's a good lense?


I have tried to take some photos with the teleconvert and without but they seem to still come out a bit dark, even with the apture fully open.

Maybe i'm not using the lense properly? Your thoughts.

Last photo with teleconverter.
The images are at least 2 stops under exposed. You need to adjust the exposure. Also, try to avoid wide open when possible, these lenses need to stop down (e.g. f8-f11) to achieve good results.
08-19-2011, 07:02 AM   #3
Junior Member




Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 27
Original Poster
Thanks ducdao. I tried it on f11 and first one came out much better but second still came out a bit dark. Still on same settings. It's probably trial and error.
Attached Images
   
08-19-2011, 07:12 AM   #4
Pentaxian
ducdao's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal/Vermont
Posts: 2,160
QuoteOriginally posted by Ducks Quote
Thanks ducdao. I tried it on f11 and first one came out much better but second still came out a bit dark. Still on same settings. It's probably trial and error.
Good progress. Since I'm at work I can't check the EXIF data.

What was the shooting speed of of pictures?

How do you meter?

Do you re-meter between two different shots that have different lightning condition?

08-19-2011, 08:10 AM   #5
Junior Member




Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 27
Original Poster
TBH ducdao i'm not to up on all the camera technical stuff . I mostly use auto mode on most things. I just do the manual focus ect. The photos are converted to jpeg, so won't have the Exif info.

I will post the Exif info so you can better see what the setting are. That would be better than me trying to explain.


For the last two photos

Filename - IMGP2765.PEF
ImageWidth - 3040
ImageLength - 2024
BitsPerSample -
Compression - -32763 (Unknown)
PhotometricInterpretation - -32733
Make - PENTAX Corporation
Model - PENTAX K100D Super
StripOffset - 73728
Orientation - Top left
SamplesPerPixel - 1
RowsPerStrip - 2024
StripByteCount - 9229440
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
PlanarConfiguration - 1
ResolutionUnit - Inch
Software - K100D Super Ver 1.00
DateTime - 2011:08:19 14:50:48
ExifOffset - 342
ExposureTime - 1/3000 seconds
FNumber - 0.00
ExposureProgram - Aperture priority
ISOSpeedRatings - 200
DateTimeOriginal - 2011:08:19 14:50:48
DateTimeDigitized - 2011:08:19 14:50:48
ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
MeteringMode - Center weighted average
Flash - Flash not fired, compulsory flash mode
FocalLength - 0 mm
SensingMethod - One-chip color area sensor
FileSource - Other
SceneType - Other
CustomRendered - Normal process
ExposureMode - Auto
White Balance - Auto
FocalLengthIn35mmFilm - 0 mm
SceneCaptureType - Standard
Contrast - Normal
Saturation - Normal
Sharpness - Normal
SubjectDistanceRange - Distant view
Maker Note (Vendor): -
Mode - Auto
Quality - RAW
ISO - 200
White Balance - Auto
Lens Type - M-42 or No Lens
Thumbnail: -
Compression - 6 (JPG)
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
ResolutionUnit - Inch
JpegIFOffset - 65630
JpegIFByteCount - 3760


Filename - IMGP2757.PEF
ImageWidth - 3040
ImageLength - 2024
BitsPerSample -
Compression - -32763 (Unknown)
PhotometricInterpretation - -32733
Make - PENTAX Corporation
Model - PENTAX K100D Super
StripOffset - 73728
Orientation - Top left
SamplesPerPixel - 1
RowsPerStrip - 2024
StripByteCount - 9229440
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
PlanarConfiguration - 1
ResolutionUnit - Inch
Software - K100D Super Ver 1.00
DateTime - 2011:08:19 14:39:11
ExifOffset - 342
ExposureTime - 1/350 seconds
FNumber - 0.00
ExposureProgram - Aperture priority
ISOSpeedRatings - 200
DateTimeOriginal - 2011:08:19 14:39:11
DateTimeDigitized - 2011:08:19 14:39:11
ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
MeteringMode - Center weighted average
Flash - Flash not fired, compulsory flash mode
FocalLength - 0 mm
SensingMethod - One-chip color area sensor
FileSource - Other
SceneType - Other
CustomRendered - Normal process
ExposureMode - Auto
White Balance - Auto
FocalLengthIn35mmFilm - 0 mm
SceneCaptureType - Standard
Contrast - Normal
Saturation - Normal
Sharpness - Normal
SubjectDistanceRange - Distant view
Maker Note (Vendor): -
Mode - Auto
Quality - RAW
ISO - 200
White Balance - Auto
Lens Type - M-42 or No Lens
Thumbnail: -
Compression - 6 (JPG)
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
ResolutionUnit - Inch
JpegIFOffset - 65630
JpegIFByteCount - 7087
08-19-2011, 08:17 AM   #6
Pentaxian
ducdao's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal/Vermont
Posts: 2,160
Here are the culprits.

ExposureTime - 1/3000 seconds
ExposureProgram - Aperture priority


1) Since this is a manual lens without "A" mode, you can't set the camera "Exposure Program" to AV, you have to set it to M (Manual) and manually control everything like Aperture, ISO, Exposure Time, etc...
2) The ExposureTime at 1/3000 is way too fast under this condition. My guess, it should be around 1/250 or 1/350

I suggest you go back to the beginner section of this forum and find threads with mentions "how to shoot in Manual Focus" "green button metering" there you will find your answers. You will see it's not hard at all.

Like these:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-beginners-corner-q/60081-usage-green-button.html
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-beginners-corner-q/110658-using-ma...x-dslrs-f.html


Good luck!
08-19-2011, 08:59 AM   #7
Junior Member




Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 27
Original Poster
Thank you ducdao, will read them. Think it's because I am so used to using my DA 50-200mm in normal settings, is why I have had some problems with this manual lense.

I have now set it to manual. I have taken a photo in this mode and it's much brighter, on f11. Maybe a bit to bright.

Can't find a green button on my camera.


Filename - IMGP2773.PEF
ImageWidth - 3040
ImageLength - 2024
BitsPerSample -
Compression - -32763 (Unknown)
PhotometricInterpretation - -32733
Make - PENTAX Corporation
Model - PENTAX K100D Super
StripOffset - 73728
Orientation - Top left
SamplesPerPixel - 1
RowsPerStrip - 2024
StripByteCount - 9229440
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
PlanarConfiguration - 1
ResolutionUnit - Inch
Software - K100D Super Ver 1.00
DateTime - 2011:08:19 16:44:26
ExifOffset - 342
ExposureTime - 1/125 seconds
FNumber - 0.00
ExposureProgram - Manual control
ISOSpeedRatings - 200
DateTimeOriginal - 2011:08:19 16:44:26
DateTimeDigitized - 2011:08:19 16:44:26
ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
MeteringMode - Center weighted average
Flash - Flash not fired, compulsory flash mode
FocalLength - 0 mm
SensingMethod - One-chip color area sensor
FileSource - Other
SceneType - Other
CustomRendered - Normal process
ExposureMode - Manual
White Balance - Auto
FocalLengthIn35mmFilm - 0 mm
SceneCaptureType - Standard
Contrast - Normal
Saturation - Normal
Sharpness - Normal
SubjectDistanceRange - Distant view
Maker Note (Vendor): -
Mode - Auto
Quality - RAW
ISO - 200
White Balance - Auto
Lens Type - M-42 or No Lens
Thumbnail: -
Compression - 6 (JPG)
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
ResolutionUnit - Inch
JpegIFOffset - 65630
JpegIFByteCount - 5973
Attached Images
 
08-19-2011, 09:05 AM   #8
Pentaxian
ducdao's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal/Vermont
Posts: 2,160
QuoteOriginally posted by Ducks Quote
Thank you ducdao, will read them. Think it's because I am so used to using my DA 50-200mm in normal settings, is why I have had some problems with this manual lense.

I have now set it to manual. I have taken a photo in this mode and it's much brighter, on f11. Maybe a bit to bright.

Can't find a green button on my camera.


Filename - IMGP2773.PEF
ImageWidth - 3040
ImageLength - 2024
BitsPerSample -
Compression - -32763 (Unknown)
PhotometricInterpretation - -32733
Make - PENTAX Corporation
Model - PENTAX K100D Super
StripOffset - 73728
Orientation - Top left
SamplesPerPixel - 1
RowsPerStrip - 2024
StripByteCount - 9229440
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
PlanarConfiguration - 1
ResolutionUnit - Inch
Software - K100D Super Ver 1.00
DateTime - 2011:08:19 16:44:26
ExifOffset - 342
ExposureTime - 1/125 seconds
FNumber - 0.00
ExposureProgram - Manual control
ISOSpeedRatings - 200
DateTimeOriginal - 2011:08:19 16:44:26
DateTimeDigitized - 2011:08:19 16:44:26
ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
MeteringMode - Center weighted average
Flash - Flash not fired, compulsory flash mode
FocalLength - 0 mm
SensingMethod - One-chip color area sensor
FileSource - Other
SceneType - Other
CustomRendered - Normal process
ExposureMode - Manual
White Balance - Auto
FocalLengthIn35mmFilm - 0 mm
SceneCaptureType - Standard
Contrast - Normal
Saturation - Normal
Sharpness - Normal
SubjectDistanceRange - Distant view
Maker Note (Vendor): -
Mode - Auto
Quality - RAW
ISO - 200
White Balance - Auto
Lens Type - M-42 or No Lens
Thumbnail: -
Compression - 6 (JPG)
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
ResolutionUnit - Inch
JpegIFOffset - 65630
JpegIFByteCount - 5973
Better in term of exposure but there is still camera shake effect in the picture. The rule of thumb is the mininal exposure time is equal to 1/focal length in this case your focal length is 300 hence try to not go to far below 1/300. Your picture above has exposure time = 1/125 which is way too slow for the 300mm.

For the green button since you have a K100DS, it's a +- button I think. It's located close to the shutter button. Please read the links I gave you as you might need to activate few options in your camera in oder to properly activate the "green button" option.

08-19-2011, 09:42 AM   #9
Forum Member
bobva's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tacoma Everett
Posts: 53
This will help

K100D (Super) Pictorial guide to using manual lenses [imgs] [Page 1]: Pentax SLR Talk Forum: Digital Photography Review
08-19-2011, 10:23 AM   #10
Veteran Member
Lloydy's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Shropshire, UK
Posts: 1,114
I have an identical lens, and it isn't bad at all.

It's big, old, heavy and probably deeply unfashionable, but I think it's well constructed and optically better than my Russian built Tair 300, which is considered by many to be the benchmark for manual focus 300's.

On my K10 I have to use the highest ISO that I can get away with if I want to use it hand held, and the K10 isn't famous for it's high ISO performance. But I get away with ISO 400. It's a lens that is best used on a good tripod then you can use the best settings and lower ISO.

There is some fringing on high contrast pictures, but that's dealt with in processing easily enough.

It's a decent lens, and one that will be a good learning tool for using manual lenses. I like mine a lot, especially as it only cost 15 ( $25 )


08-19-2011, 10:27 AM   #11
Junior Member




Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 27
Original Poster
QuoteQuote:
Better in term of exposure but there is still camera shake effect in the picture. The rule of thumb is the mininal exposure time is equal to 1/focal length in this case your focal length is 300 hence try to not go to far below 1/300. Your picture above has exposure time = 1/125 which is way too slow for the 300mm.
I did have SR on, so it should of stopped any of that but that leads on to a possible problem.

I just started with that tutorial bobva posted a link to. Got to the part about SR and I can't get that screen to come up. I have always had the SR button on. I have gone into the menu and SR seems to be grayed out. Something don't seem right.
08-19-2011, 10:33 AM   #12
Pentaxian
ducdao's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal/Vermont
Posts: 2,160
QuoteOriginally posted by Ducks Quote
I did have SR on, so it should of stopped any of that but that leads on to a possible problem.

I just started with that tutorial bobva posted a link to. Got to the part about SR and I can't get that screen to come up. I have always had the SR button on. I have gone into the menu and SR seems to be grayed out. Something don't seem right.
Don't worry about the SR for now. You could and should leave it on unless you use a tripod. Focus on the parts where you need to setup your camera to perform the "stop down metering using the green button" in your case there is no green button, it's the =- button next to your shutter button.
08-19-2011, 10:33 AM   #13
Junior Member




Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 27
Original Poster
Thank you Lloydy for your opinion. It's good to know it's not a rubbish lens.

Last edited by Ducks; 08-19-2011 at 11:18 AM.
08-19-2011, 11:17 AM   #14
Junior Member




Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 27
Original Poster
So the AE-L button is the green button. Not sure if I have done this right.

Filename - IMGP2777.PEF
ImageWidth - 3040
ImageLength - 2024
BitsPerSample -
Compression - -32763 (Unknown)
PhotometricInterpretation - -32733
Make - PENTAX Corporation
Model - PENTAX K100D Super
StripOffset - 73728
Orientation - Top left
SamplesPerPixel - 1
RowsPerStrip - 2024
StripByteCount - 9229440
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
PlanarConfiguration - 1
ResolutionUnit - Inch
Software - K100D Super Ver 1.00
DateTime - 2011:08:19 18:55:43
ExifOffset - 342
ExposureTime - 1/250 seconds
FNumber - 0.00
ExposureProgram - Manual control
ISOSpeedRatings - 200
DateTimeOriginal - 2011:08:19 18:55:43
DateTimeDigitized - 2011:08:19 18:55:43
ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
MeteringMode - Center weighted average
Flash - Flash not fired, compulsory flash mode
FocalLength - 0 mm
SensingMethod - One-chip color area sensor
FileSource - Other
SceneType - Other
CustomRendered - Normal process
ExposureMode - Manual
White Balance - Auto
FocalLengthIn35mmFilm - 0 mm
SceneCaptureType - Standard
Contrast - Normal
Saturation - Normal
Sharpness - Normal
SubjectDistanceRange - Distant view
Maker Note (Vendor): -
Mode - Auto
Quality - RAW
ISO - 200
White Balance - Auto
Lens Type - M-42 or No Lens
Thumbnail: -
Compression - 6 (JPG)
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
ResolutionUnit - Inch
JpegIFOffset - 65630
JpegIFByteCount - 4311

I am now losing light. So won't take anymore after this.
Attached Images
 
08-19-2011, 11:26 AM   #15
Pentaxian
ducdao's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal/Vermont
Posts: 2,160
QuoteOriginally posted by Ducks Quote
So the AE-L button is the green button. Not sure if I have done this right.

Filename - IMGP2777.PEF
ImageWidth - 3040
ImageLength - 2024
BitsPerSample -
Compression - -32763 (Unknown)
PhotometricInterpretation - -32733
Make - PENTAX Corporation
Model - PENTAX K100D Super
StripOffset - 73728
Orientation - Top left
SamplesPerPixel - 1
RowsPerStrip - 2024
StripByteCount - 9229440
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
PlanarConfiguration - 1
ResolutionUnit - Inch
Software - K100D Super Ver 1.00
DateTime - 2011:08:19 18:55:43
ExifOffset - 342
ExposureTime - 1/250 seconds
FNumber - 0.00
ExposureProgram - Manual control
ISOSpeedRatings - 200
DateTimeOriginal - 2011:08:19 18:55:43
DateTimeDigitized - 2011:08:19 18:55:43
ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
MeteringMode - Center weighted average
Flash - Flash not fired, compulsory flash mode
FocalLength - 0 mm
SensingMethod - One-chip color area sensor
FileSource - Other
SceneType - Other
CustomRendered - Normal process
ExposureMode - Manual
White Balance - Auto
FocalLengthIn35mmFilm - 0 mm
SceneCaptureType - Standard
Contrast - Normal
Saturation - Normal
Sharpness - Normal
SubjectDistanceRange - Distant view
Maker Note (Vendor): -
Mode - Auto
Quality - RAW
ISO - 200
White Balance - Auto
Lens Type - M-42 or No Lens
Thumbnail: -
Compression - 6 (JPG)
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
ResolutionUnit - Inch
JpegIFOffset - 65630
JpegIFByteCount - 4311

I am now losing light. So won't take anymore after this.
Still probably 1 stop under exposed. Sometimes, the stop down metering of the Pentax is not very accurate so you will have to override it manually. In this case you will have few options:

1) Increase the ISO from 200 to 400, keep everything else the same
2) Stick with ISO 200 but use shutter speed at 1/125, this might induce camera shake if you don't have steady hands though. Keep everything else the same
3) Open the lens aperture by one stop (e.g. from f5.6 to f4 for exaplme), leave everything else the same
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
300mm, camera, dslr, f5.5, lense, photography, soligor
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soligor C/D lenses figmental1978 Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 20 09-04-2013 01:29 PM
Soligor T4 to k-mount? cranci Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 8 09-15-2010 12:03 PM
Soligor 135 F2.8 jheu02 Post Your Photos! 4 09-22-2009 05:24 AM
For Sale - Sold: Zeiss 180 f/2.8, Soligor 200mm f/2.8, Tair 300mm f/4.5, Sigma 17-70 f/2.8-4.5 hinman Sold Items 21 07-08-2009 10:00 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 PM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top