Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-30-2011, 07:13 PM   #1
Pentaxian

How do I use external TTL flash on the *ist D?

Hi guys - I just acquired the *ist D simply to leverage all my external TTL flashes. This is my first time using the TTL functionality so I'm not sure how to make it works properly.

Let's say I have the following setup:

- *ist D ==> Mode = M, ISO = 400, shutter = 1/125 as it won't sync beyond that
- M50/f1.4 ==> F5.6
- Nikon SB28 flash

Now the question is: what do I set on my SB28?

I'm pretty sure I need to set the flash mode to TTL but do I need to set other parameters (focal, ISO and aperture) to match with the camera of it does on its own?

08-30-2011, 07:38 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm not a flash expert, but you should just be able to use the flash in TTL mode- the camera will do everything else for you. That's the beauty of TTL, as it measures light in real time rather than performing calculations in advance.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
08-30-2011, 08:44 PM   #3
Veteran Member

TTL requires "dedicated" flash. Nikon flashes are not dedicated to Pentax cameras.
08-30-2011, 08:50 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Ah!! No!!

You will NOT be able to use a Nikon SB28 flash in TTL mode on a Pentax camera.

If the flash has an sensor in the flash you should be able to use the flash in Auto mode, where the flash controls the amount of flash delivered.

You should also match all settins on the camera on the flash ISO, aperture, focal length if that can be set on the flash.