Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-14-2011, 08:01 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Thoughts on features & firmware

I got to thinking yesterday... Aren't there some features missing from cameras that could just easily be written into the firmware?

For instance, I think a couple of nice touches for the K-x would've been ISO speeds of 25, 64, & 100, and adjustable audio levels for video recording. Seems to me those could've just been written into the software, but I'm not a software engineer, so I might be totally wrong on this.

Cheers,
Bobbo :-)

09-14-2011, 08:37 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm no camera engineer (are there such people?) but I believe in the case of ISO, this is limited by the capabilities of the sensor, not the firmware. On modifications to firmware, sure there are lots of things that have been suggested on this very forum that we 'wish' were added.
09-14-2011, 08:58 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I think giving more manual control of video is the biggest one. Other thing is how long you have to hold th ok button to activate the auto focus select points option.
09-14-2011, 09:00 AM   #4
Pentaxian

If you mean ISO steps smaller than 100,200,400,800, then it's in the menu. If you mean ISO steps below 100ISO, then that's the sensor's restriction.

09-14-2011, 09:56 AM   #5
Veteran Member

A couple years ago was a thread about hi-res low-ISO possibilities, with reports of a firm using a sensor without a Bayer filter to generate B&W images at effectively ISO 25. Haven't heard of that lately so maybe it just didn't pan out. Too bad.

As for firmware: I've seen numerous wish-lists here of features that *could* be included with no bother; and calls for a Pentax SDK so independent developers could add features; and links to some hacks of K10D and possibly other warez.

But we're still where we are. So, welcome to the funny-farm. Let's keep on wishing.