Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-05-2007, 08:13 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Flash help - suggestions, etc

Well, I had a very in-depth post written up and for some reason the website ate it - that pisses me off..

Anyway, I'll give the short story this time..

I'm an available light photographer but, I realize I'm giving up too much creativity by not embracing flash use - time for a change. What's the absolute best flash for the K10D? I shoot wide and long, landscape and architecture. 99.9% of the time I shoot in M-mode, RAW and on occasion in Auto-mode, JPG for fun shots with friends and family, etc. (read: expensive p&s at the dinner table)

I do not want to give up ANY functionality whatsoever! Period! No excuses, no work-arounds.

I want IR control, High Speed Sync to 1/4000, complete compatability with P-TTL, good battery life on 4-AA's, a legible manual that takes into consideration the camera I'm using, works perfectly with the camera in Auto mode for those lazy days, and no known issues with quality, broken this or that, etc.

I think only two units fit my needs and those would be the.. If there are others, by all means, enlighten me.

Pentax AF 540 FGZ
Sigma EF 530 DG Super

Thanks in advance..

12-05-2007, 08:25 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Tom M Quote
High Speed Sync to 1/4000
I wondered about this yesterday. I don't think the K10D is capable of that. I believe I read somewhere the fastest is 1/180. Don't quote me though... The Nikon D70s, can do that, but I believe there is a good deal of tweaking to accomplish that.

Maybe we can put out heads together and find a work around for us!
12-05-2007, 08:30 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Sorry Tom J is right is correct High Speed Sync is 1/180 for a flash with the K10. Curious why would you need that high a snch speed. This may be obvious to others but not me
12-05-2007, 08:30 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums