Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-07-2007, 07:34 AM   #1

Orange Tint in Photos

I have been using my K100D for about 2 months now and have shot ~1000 photos. I love all the features and have really been taking more photos now that I converted to digital. I am using a Sigma 17-70 lens on the camera which has been performing superbly.

My only complaint (and I think I'm being picky) is that I get an orange tint to my photos. It is worse when I don't manually do the white balance prior to shooting. Picasa usually takes care of it. Sometimes I want the oranger tones (especially if thats what things really looked like). However, sometimes the difference is quite substantial. My current settings are high saturation, S+1, S+1, C+1. I shoot raw at 6MP.

I know that post-processing is just going to be a way of life when I shoot digital, but I feel bad when I have to manipulate my photos after taking them (what would Ansel say?). I have rationalized it by saying its akin to the development process, but it takes less time.

Thanks!

Joe

12-07-2007, 07:46 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Sounds like they may be under exposed, but I think that with a combination of white balancing is the trick. Take a test shot and use the FN key to adjust the WB on the spot, well that is what I do. Also try upping your EV +.5 or higher and see what that does for you. What mode are you shooting in?
12-07-2007, 07:47 AM   #3
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forums. Maybe you should post an example of one of these shots. Are they indoors? Indoor light will have big effects on the light tone without WB adjustments. As for the settings, they have no effect on a RAW image. They are for Jpegs only. Think of RAW as the negative in film. It's supposed to be the unaltered true image but the better way to shoot most of the time as you have a lot more latitude to adjust after ward.
12-07-2007, 08:34 AM   #4