Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-14-2011, 04:56 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Load-testing Batteries

Does anyone know how to load-test D-SLR batteries? That is, how can I quickly determine whether a battery will hold its charge for a long time or become exhausted quickly. I have two Li-90 batteries and want to figure out which lasts longer.
Cheers

10-14-2011, 11:02 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Load testing may not give you a time frame just the voltage under load,probably not worth the effort to set up.
Jake
10-14-2011, 01:27 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I'm not an electrical engineer, so take this with a big grain of salt.

It would be fairly easy to rig up something with a resistor and an ammeter in series with the battery. I calculate that a 100 ohm, 1/2 watt resistor would result in a current flow of less than 100 milliamps, which should be safe. Just connect the battery, resistor and ammeter (not voltmeter) in series and monitor it to see when the current flow begins to drop off.

If my calculations are correct, a fully charged battery should last around 15-18 hours at 100 milliamps. This is long enough to allow a fairly accurate measurement.

What I'm not sure of is whether there would be any significant heat buildup in the battery under long-term constant current flow conditions. Even though the current flow would be small, these batteries aren't designed for a constant load. Even with constant shooting, the battery is drained in spurts, such as shutter actuation and flash charging. In between, the battery has time to cool.

Also, because this sort of test does not simulate actual shooting conditions, the results might not reflect real-world performance.

BTW, the formula is: e = ir, where e is the voltage of the fully charged battery, i is the current in amps. Pick a value for i that is safe (keep it under 500 milliamps or .5 amp). Solve for r and that's your resistance in ohms.