Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-10-2007, 07:49 PM   #1

Pentax, Canon or Nikon for a newcomer?

Hello everyone!

Well... im new here so this will also be some sort of introduction.

Im a mexican student, 22 years old who has always shown interest in photography but could never afford getting into it, until now (film cameras are cheap but film and their processing cost might be a bit prohibitive if you do it often around here).

The thing is that i've been reading a lot about photography (at least the theorethical part of it), and i do feel very inclined torwards a dSLR, the only little problem is that i dont know which one.

For what i've read, the k10d seems like a pretty sweet camera for those who like to stay out of the dumb modes, has a lot of features and you don't have to sell a kidney to afford one, but im still very unsure because i still ignore many things about photography in general.

I still haven't got married with any brand so i guess i will have to choose a way. Therefore i would like to ask you this:

Is Pentax the right way for me?.

If this helps, i'd like to use the camera for many, many things, but mainly landscapes, urban photography and portraits. Wild life is out of the question because i have yet to figure out a way to steal a bank without getting caught in order to afford one of those sweet sweet wide teles

BTW i have a sentimental relationship with a pentax camera who belonged to my father, who died when i was 4, it was an M series.

Thanks everyone for reading this, sorry for the drama!

12-10-2007, 08:10 PM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi:

I'm also a newbie, and was able to buy my first dSLR a month ago. I did lots of research and I believe all these good brands (Nikon, Canon, Pentax) offer great quality in their machines. I've been reading photography books non-stop since then! Lots of things to learn.

I chose a Pentax K100D Super mainly for three reasons:

1. Great price