Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2007, 06:26 AM   #1

K100D super. Photo/Style Tips.....

Hi, firstly im not sure if this is the right forum to post in. im fairly new to photography and not really sure where to post.

I want to develop one style of imagary and id like to start with a similiar style to the following image:

this reminds me of a dreamy scene with the bluring adding to the effect. i can recreate this effect in photoshop with various filters, but i was wondering if there were any tips i should be aware of when taking photos.

to make things more clear i have a pentax k100d super with a kit lense. again im not sure if this would be enough to create something like the above.....if it is not then please tell me, im aware the kit lense isn't superb.

thankyou in advance and i apologise for my lack of technical knowledge :P

12-14-2007, 06:27 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
a soft focus lens would be better.
12-14-2007, 09:25 AM   #3

and fog would be a big help.
12-14-2007, 09:36 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by OrionTC Quote
this reminds me of a dreamy scene with the bluring adding to the effect. i can recreate this effect in photoshop with various filters, but i was wondering if there were any tips i should be aware of when taking photos.
There is a really simple and low (to zero) cost way of doing this.

Diffuse the lens - that sounds more "technical" than it is.

Use anything that will diffuse the lens - some examples -

1) piece of mesh, eg: sheer nylon pantyhose material and a rubber band to hold it over the lens front - use different number of layers to get different effects.

2) smear petroleum jelly/Vaseline on a clear filter (UV) - you can vary the effect by using different amounts and/or different distribution.