Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2007, 09:26 AM   #16
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Switters, you still haven't answered your own question yet.
"is the extra expense of the 5D worth it?"

I am just a rank amateur hobbyist and Pentax makes fantastic cameras for me there is even a prominent fashion photographer on here and he seems very happy with his K10D and as far as I can tell seems to make a pretty good living from his Pentax camera.

Now you state you need faster AF & higher ISO for portraits and that the canon 5D meets your needs. Forgive me as I am just a rank amateur but I would have thought that for portraits a good studio lighting set up would be more important than lowlight AF. And the price of a K10D body and a couple of flashes and stands would come in about the same price as a Canon 5D.

What I also don't understand is if you are making money from portraits and the canon 5d will in your opinion be easier to use (and I assume you feel it will give superior results) then what are you waiting for, buy it, be happy and make lots of money.

The cost of your camera is irrelevant when it comes to making money - and it is not always the most expensive equipment that is best for the job either.

12-14-2007, 09:53 AM   #17
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Falcons Quote
for portraits a good studio lighting set up would be more important than lowlight AF.
I'm a bit puzzled by this as well. Unless you're doing unusually lighted portraits, I would have thought good lighting gear would be a higher priority.

Now if you had tried doing sports or birds in flight with the 5D or even a 40D and compared it to AF speed/lock and AF-C on the K10D, you would have been more impressed

ken
12-14-2007, 10:04 AM   #18
baw

QuoteOriginally posted by switters Quote