Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2007, 08:26 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
What to do with lens cap?

Hey guys, I'm new to photography. What do you guys do with the lens cap? Do you still keep it on when you're not using your camera? And when you're out, do you just put it in your pocket?

I know, it's a basic question...

12-15-2007, 08:36 AM   #2

Keep that lens cap on to protect your lens whenever possible. I usually put the cap in my pocket. You could glue a piece of elastic to the lens and tie the other side around your lens if you don't mind a dangling lens cap, but then you won't lose it. One of my second hand lenses came this way, and I use it, doesn't bother me at all.

If you want to protect your lenses, but don't like the idea of putting your lens cap on and off all day, buy a uv filter or a clear filter to screw onto your lens. That way, god forbid, something does happen to your glass, it just scratched/broke your $10 filter and not your lens.

Matt
12-15-2007, 09:17 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

For all my cameras I use one of those inexpensive kits that glues a pad to the cap and has elastic to go around the lens.

My Fuji S-5200 has the best cap design to avoid the cap dangling from the cord. You squeeze the tabs to clamp it on the camera strap. The Pentax cap with some effort can stay on the strap. The beveled notch is the right width and may have been intended to make the cap stowable.
12-15-2007, 09:34 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Fast cap

This is not a very popular solution but it is the on that works best for me.

Fast Cap | Demo Page

They screw on to the front of the lens and you pop them open.

12-15-2007, 09:54 AM   #5
Inactive Account

I don't see why you all need to protect your lenses that much...I keep all of my lenses in my bag, and sometimes have a rear cap on them, but never a front cap. I do have UV filters on most of them, though.