Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-16-2007, 12:30 PM   #1
Forum Member

Aperture Help

Good afternoon

I'm new to these forums so first I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Jesse and I live in Maine, though I grew up in New York City. I've always had a love for photography but this is my first time with a DSLR camera, so I'm still trying to learn the ropes.

My wife bought me the Pentax K100D Super for my birthday, and I've been looking over the manual and playing around with it a bit.

One question I have is with the aperture. From what I gather, it is relating to the depth of field. In the view finder, I can adjust it anywhere from F4.5 to F32. I noticed that when I have it set to a smaller number, the shutter appears to open and close rather quick, and when it is set high it is open longer and I can hear the noise longer.

When I have it set higher, if I take a picture of close up objects, there are more objects in focus.

I guess my question is, my lens says it is F3.5 - F5.8 so why does it allow me to go up to 32? Is there anything wrong with me going into the F12's and higher to shoot close ups?

12-16-2007, 12:46 PM   #2

Do a google search on depth of field and read a lot. That's what I do.

Secondly, the lens' rating indicates the _fastest_ speed the lens is capable of. So a f3.5 lens can be set to f8, f11, f22, etc but not f2.

The smaller the number, the larger the aperature. The larger the number, the smaller the aperature. It's a reverse relationship.

Just like when you squint to see more clearly, a smaller aperature [larger # f-stop] sharpens the _overall_ depth of field, but doesn't really change the focus at the focus point.

The sound of the shutter is telling you something: with the lens set to wide open [low f-stop] more light gets in, resulting in a shorter shutter open time, with the lens 'stopped-down' less light gets in, resulting in a longer shutter time.