Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-15-2006, 10:16 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
New member w/ some questions about the K100/K10D

Hello everyone

I'm new to DSLR's and I have been using a KM 5D for 5 months so far and I have started to lose faith since the Sony takeover. I just don't think it bodes well for us KM users in terms of warranty/repair service.

Anyhow. I was eyeing the Olym e-500 until I stumbed over Pop. Photo's current issue w/ a article about Pentax's new K100 w/ anti-shake.

Needless to say I'm pretty intrigued since I love KM's AS (the reason why I went w/ KM over Nik/Can). So I have a few questions for any K100 owners out there:

1. What are the best batteries to get? Do you guys use rechargables? If so, do you us NiMh type? No other battery options are there, correct?

2. Since I am new to the DSLR world, Pentax is not a brand I know at all. How are they in terms of honoring warranties and the quality control of their products and repair service? One of the things that is making me want to jump ship from KM (although i'm a noob w/ KM) is the fact I'm hearing so many bad things from other KM users (notably on the Dyxum.com forums) about sending their camera's to Sony and the problem not being fixed. Or the A-100 buyers having to send their camera's back after a month, dusty sensors from un-opened cameras, etc etc. I'm just not at all convinced that Sony is going to take care of me in the event my 5D decides to go nuts. (shutter-lock is the only issue KM's seem to be having)

Whew. So how's the reliability of Pentax DSLR's so far? Everyone happy? No serious design flaws? I'm a college student and photography is my field of study so I want a sturdy camera that will last me a good 4 yrs or so. I may hold out for the K10D.. if all goes well.

Thanks for any insight. I do plan on trying one out at the local camera shop this weekend to get a feel for it.