Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-19-2007, 01:23 AM   #1

Panorama Shots With K100D Super

Hello All...I've been reading this forum for a while and thought I'd join up. I haven't seen this question posted so here it is. I have been using a Pentax Option S5i for a few years now and I recently decided to upgrade to an SLR. I went with the K100D Super and I am very happy I did. It is a great transition to the power an SLR offers. One really nice feature in the optio I use frequently is the panorama feature. The software then stitches the photos together for really great results. Is there a way to achieve the same type of shots with the K100D? I suppose a wide angle lens or the fisheye ( I plan to purchase both at some point) will give me the same result, but I'd like to know if there is a way to do it the same way my optio did. Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by tgrimes; 12-19-2007 at 01:56 AM.
12-19-2007, 03:09 AM   #2
axl
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi tgrimes,
welcome to the forums.
First of all, great choice of camera, I'm sure you'll be happy with it.
As for the panoramatic shots. I was using DA18-55 for over year for that purpose, and I found it rather great. Stopped down to f16 it gives great sharpness and nice DOF. Sometimes you may feel (as I did) that it's bit narrow at 18. But with good tripod, PC and software, this is easy to sort out as you can stitch pics...
But to be on the safe side, I wrote to Santa and he's delivering Sigma 10-20 for this X-mas. I've already testdriven the lens. It's stunning lens. Other alternatives are Pentax DA 12-24, DA 14, or fisheye lenses, Sigma does few (don't know though which with K-mount) and Pentax has it's own DA 10-17. With fisheyes you must be aware that the distortion will be much greater due to "fisheye" aspect of the lens...
good luck
12-19-2007, 04:51 AM   #3
Forum Member

Hello!