Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-13-2011, 01:03 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Catch-in-focus with Tamron Adaptall 2 mirror lens

Hey all,

I just picked a 500mm mirror lens up off eBay and have been playing around with it a bit. I pooh-poohed the idea of difficulty focusing because, after all, I'm a real photographer from back when we had to mix up our own emulsions from the caribou we hunted with our stone hand-axes...anyway, after decades of work with manual-focus lenses, I figured, how hard could it be?

Hard, as it turns out. Of the 50 or so images I shot the first time out, I had maybe 5 in focus without undue shutter blur. You would not think that ducks bobbing on little foot-high waves would move around enough to muck with your mind, focus-wise. (But if you would not think that, clearly you've never tried to hand-focus a 500mm f/8 catadioptric!)

With other lenses, I'll sometimes use the trick of setting the autofocus point, then using catch-in-focus while I slowly rack the focus ring. Here, though, the shutter was firing the instant I pressed, even when things were WAY out of focus. I seem to recall C-I-F working with M lenses. Am I missing something?

TIA,

rw

(Here's one of the few keepers.)

12-13-2011, 01:13 PM   #2

Check the mount of the lens - is it plastic or painted? If so, it's not shorting the data pin. If not, is it at least covering the pins? If it is painted, are you willing to scratch some paint to bare metal so that it will short the data pin?

Looking in the link, it looks like it's either painted, or not actually making contact with the pins. Without the data pin shorted, the camera doesn't realize there's a lens attached and won't engage CIF.
12-13-2011, 01:47 PM   #3
Pentaxian

As an owner of the shorter sibling, the Tamron SP 350mm f/5.6 I can confirm that these lenses ARE difficult to focus - but practicing will bring you a long way (after some time...).