Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-23-2011, 07:17 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What to do.... What to do...

So, I have been sitting on the gear I have for a few months now. Nothing much has been going on, and looking to downsize/improve on what I have.

I have been thinking of dropping down to just one camera. I have both the K7 and K5, and really have no use for 2 bodies. I hardly ever need both bodies. (Ok, I NEVER need 2 bodies) but its nice to have. I just have this fear that as soon as I sell the K7, the K5 is going to get dropped, ran over, eaten by a kangaroo, etc. I know this is a silly thing to fear, I dont have a backup house if mine burns down, nor a backup wife should the one I have is sleeping... yet it still creeps me out a bit..

Anyways. The gear i have is listed in my profile.

I am thinking of downing it all down to the:
K5
18-135
10-24
50 1.4

Selling the:
17-50 2.8
70-200 2.8
K7

and buying the:
16-50 2.8
50-135 2.8

I dont know if this is a rash decision, or if I should just go for it. I do like the 17-50 and the 70-200, but i think I will like the pentax 2.8's better. (I do love my 18-135)

anyways, doing the math, it looks like the K7 with battery grip should pull $550/$600, maybe $300 for the 17-50 and hopefully $600 for the 70-200.
I think I could get both lenses for about $1400, so it would be an even swap. Just dont know what I want to do yet.

Any suggestions?

12-23-2011, 07:23 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by SlickYamaha Quote
eaten by a kangaroo
Everyone knows that Kangaroos only eat Nikons!
12-23-2011, 07:30 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Well, for starters, kangaroos are herbivores not electronivores so you can cross that possible fate of your K5 off the list. Saltwater crocodiles on the other hand, can destroy anything in about 1/4 of a second so if you are planning on visiting Australia... that's a factor.