Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-25-2011, 06:16 PM   #1

Used K20d or a used K7?

Hello everyone!

I'm a long time lurker of the forums but a first time poster. I had a quick question about a camera I'm hoping to post and I figured everyone here would be able to answer any questions before I put down the money!

I am a college student who will be spending the next semester in Cork, Ireland — I'm extremely excited for the trip and I will be leaving soon! I am a current Pentax user, with a Pentax K100d Super, and I want to look into possibly buying a new camera before my trip. I've been lusting over the K5 for awhile but I feel like it is a bit too out of my reach as of right now, so I was thinking of picking up either a used K7 or a used K20d. I'm just not sure which one to get.

I feel like the K7 may be the better investment as it is a newer model, but from what I've heard, I feel as though a lot of Pentax users were disappointed with the K7, at least in comparison to the K5. I know a lot of users were happy with the K20d when it was orignally released, but I'm not sure if that means it has aged well. Considering that I'm still with a Super, either option would probably make me a very happy customer, but I figured I'd research as much as possible before I decide.

As I mentioned, most of the use of the new camera will be general tourist-y pictures while in Ireland. In addition to this, I do photograph a few concerts here and there, so it would be great if my future camera is at least halfway decent with high ISO photographs.

Thanks for your help!

12-25-2011, 07:17 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are plenty of threads o this forum comparing the two models. Do a quick search above to read through the pros and cons as they apply to you.