Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-01-2012, 04:22 PM   #1

Not sure how I should go about upgrading?

Greetings everybody! Hope you're all having a fantastic holiday.

I'm currently in the predicament of not knowing how to go about upgrading from Pentax K-x. I've been using the K-x for over two years now and feel that I can probably sell the K-x and start upgrading.

However, I'm not entirely sure what I should upgrade to, most people have advised I avoid the K-r as it isn't really a major upgrade over the K-x and that I should instead hold out for the K-5. My questions to you folks are:

How much should I expect to sell the K-x for and where would the ideal place be to sell it?

What camera should I upgrade to assuming that my price range is $400 + (Whatever it is I get for the K-x)?

Many thanks!

01-01-2012, 04:31 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Have you checked the Buy/Sell forum here?

You may get a couple hundred for the Kx.............maybe more...........I think you'll do better selling it here than trading it in or selling on eBay.....add $400 to that and maybe you can get a used K7............which might be a good step up.............
01-01-2012, 04:40 PM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If you haven't a specific camera in mind, I am not so sure you *need* to upgrade at all. The Kr would be an incredibly slight upgrade. The K7 would be a major body upgrade but a slight step back in IQ. If you're not sure what you want to achieve from your upgrade, my advice is continue to enjoy your Kx.
01-01-2012, 04:46 PM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by ihasa Quote
If you haven't a specific camera in mind, I am not so sure you *need* to upgrade at all.
+1 What do you want to do that the k-x doesn't?