Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2007, 01:27 PM   #1

Storing Your Camera

Hello everyone,

First off, I'm a complete noob. I just got a K100D for christmas, and I know next to nothing about photography in general, though it has always interested me. Anyhow, I wonder how you store your camera's day-to-day. Should I be removing the lens and putting the covers on, or is it fine to leave the lens attached? Thanks in advance.

ps Any good beginner photography books you recommend?

12-27-2007, 01:32 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by TakeshiKovacs Quote
Hello everyone,

First off, I'm a complete noob. I just got a K100D for christmas, and I know next to nothing about photography in general, though it has always interested me. Anyhow, I wonder how you store your camera's day-to-day. Should I be removing the lens and putting the covers on, or is it fine to leave the lens attached? Thanks in advance.

ps Any good beginner photography books you recommend?
I always have a lens attached to my camera. Just make sure that the front of the camera is filled with either a lens or a cover at all times to prevent things from getting into the camera.

There are a number of books available. I would start at the local library. Don't restrict yourself to books on digital photography. The principals of framing, exposure, etc. are the same.
12-27-2007, 01:34 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Hi Takeshi and Welcome to the forum.

You don't have to take the lense off the camera when not in use. Actually, if you do, you're only adding the possibility of dust entering and settling on the censor.

Just keep the camera in a dry and "clean" environment.
12-27-2007, 02:13 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums