Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2012, 08:10 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
K-7 or K-5

Hi, I know there are a lot of threads like this, but I guess it won't hurt to make one again.
I'm just a working student and have the k-r so far, but I find that I've been pushing the k-r to its edge and I want to get a camera which has a lot more easier access to the features that I need. So I was thinking of getting a K-7 for a budget of 450 - 500. but do you guys think that it's much better to save up more $ for the K-5 instead? (which is double the price?)

First scenario. Keep K-r get K-7 save up some more and then sell k-r to get k-5.
Or Keep K-r get K-5.
Or Keep K-r get K-7 invest in more lens.
The second body will be used as a back-up (For my sister or girlfriend when we go out for mini photowalks)

Thanks.

01-13-2012, 08:20 PM   #2
Site Supporter

What features do you need a lot more access to?
01-13-2012, 08:25 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
u will not be 100% happy go from k-r to k-7..u gain some and u also lose some
but u will be 100% happy go from k-r to k-5..
01-13-2012, 08:29 PM   #4
Veteran Member

if you can get the money, go for the k-5. Its that good

01-13-2012, 08:52 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks guys

And keep the k-r as a second body? I figured the only thing lacking on the k-7 was it's low ISO capabilities which the K-r has. The K-r has a horrible AF and is always FFed when I use it with my manual lens(Therefore I always shoot with the live view, which I personally think sucks.) And I'm hoping that the K-7 will prevail on the AF problems that the k-r has when using <f2.

As for features that I would like to have:
Having direct access to AF/Meter modes I can switch just like that "snaps fingers".
I don't need to put down my camera when I need to change ISO/A/S to compensate for proper exposure, I can mess with it in a flip of a thumb.