Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-16-2012, 10:07 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
K20D or K5

Dear Members,

I am seeking some suggestions about buying a second camera. I am a dedicated amateur. I currently use a K20D and love it. I have won prizes from my photos with this camera and I even sold a print. I had been thinking about buying a new or used K5 and keeping the K20D for backup. However, today I was reading the K20D manual--yes I'm that much of a nerd--for the third time and discovered a dial and settings that I was not using correctly. I began thinking that perhaps I should buy a used K20D as a backup camera. It not only would save me money for the camera body, but I also could use the three extra batteries and the hand grip that I have already bought for my K20D. If I bought a K5, I'd have to buy new batteries as spare and a new hand grip thereby raising the overall cost. Furthermore, I would not have to read and reread another manual. What I know about my K20D, I would know for a second one. If I bought a K5, I would have another manual to read and remember.

My question is, which camera body would you buy if you were in my position? Is the K-5 really that much better for photographs? Are the K5 settings very different from the K20D? Is a K5 worth the price difference?

Thanks, in advance, for your suggestions and comments.

Ed

01-16-2012, 10:14 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
If the K20D suits your needs, then I see no reason to upgrade personally.
However, if the K20D leaves you wanting more in some area or another then I'd highly recommend upgrading

Hope this helps.
01-16-2012, 11:13 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good Morning,