Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-26-2012, 12:10 AM   #1

K7 advice

Hi. I just got a second hand K7 to bring on holdiay to Norway. I'm hoping to photograph the northern lights but my first try was not sucessful. I'm hoping that someone can advise me of the correct settings as the generic suggestions from keen northern lights photgraphers I found on line are beyond my current understanding!

Read more at: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/welcomes-introductions/172951-new-these-f...#ixzz1kXtv6lBC

01-26-2012, 12:41 AM   #2
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum. The K-7 is a great camera. I got mine 2 years ago and I love it. I have no experience with the northern lights, but I found that the K-7 can give greats shots in low lights and dim lights using some fast prime lenses. In my case, these are the FA31mm f1.8 and the Voigtlander Nokton 58mm f1.4 which work great outdoor. The VL58mm is built like a tank and it is avery rugged lens, well-suited for harsch conditions.

Hope that the comment may help.
01-26-2012, 01:57 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thank you. My challenge is more than lense selection. THis being my first dslr I do not know how to operate it. I believe that I need to set ISO and F manually but don't get how. On my first attempt with the 18-55 which came with the kit I boght, I set to bulb and manual ISO400 but the camera would not take the photo. I've since tried with the 18-135 lense, switched to MF, bulb and SEL on the AF which allows to me to take the shot. I guess what I'd like is advice on how to set the camera up?
01-26-2012, 02:38 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Hi,
Larsenio , forum member, just posted some photos ( and link to Flickr with more) from Norway, have a look at settings ( EXIF)
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/172940-night-aurora-bore...ic-norway.html

01-26-2012, 02:40 AM   #5