Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-30-2012, 03:41 PM   #1
Forum Member

Tried out Fuji X100

Today I had an opportunity to try out a Fuji X100. Love the way it looks and feels in my hands. Sadly to say, the rest of the camera did not impress me. Now to qualify things, I am a noob to digital cameras and am experiencing difficulty in finding a camera that works well with my hands, ie, control placement, size, and use.
Picture quality is fine, just the rest of it does not work well with for me. As for using it in manual mode, forget it. Too difficult to use the focusing ring. The viewfinder (range finder in this case I believe) is also difficult to use when focusing manually. Should be used as a point and shoot. A hell of a lot of money for such a camera!

01-30-2012, 03:49 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Are you new to photography or digital photography?

I have heard that the X100 is not a camera for beginners. I think Ken Rockwell said something to the effect of its a camera that experienced photographers use for fun.
01-30-2012, 04:07 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Well, the X100 is a point and shoot, it's not a rangefinder although it's styled like one, and it happens to be a P&S that is very expensive but produces stunning images. Also, I think you are confusing "manual mode" with "manual focus" which is meant to be horrible with the X100. I agree with the point above about it being a fun camera for an experienced photographer.
01-30-2012, 04:45 PM   #4

The X100 is like dating a model who's good in the sack. She's temperamental, sometimes tough to figure out, but there's not much else like her. I love mine, but I'm experienced and I know my way around it. There is a high learning curve, but once you figure it out, like any good film, it's smooth sailing.