Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-01-2008, 05:30 PM   #1

Considering switching from 40D to K10D

Hi, 1st post. This is in no way meant to start mud slinging or flaming, although I know that's difficult with a thread like this if certain people get involved. I also know that I'll likely get 99%+ recommendations to do the switch, so please try to be as unbiased as possible try to focus your recommendations to be aimed at my particular individual situation. Ok, here goes:

I have only owned Canon DSLR's and this is my 1st time thinking about changing formats. I currently use a 40D (17-40L is my main lens). I'm not a pro, far from it, and I would consider myself to be a mid ranged hobbyist that takes photos of landscapes and family type stuff and the occasional still life. The most active subjects that I photograph are my kids and pets. I have a 13 year old daughter that's into track, swimming and gymnastics....and a 2 year old that's the typical kid running around like crazy. I'm not into wildlife or bird photography at all. After reading many reviews on many different web sites (and magazines), I'm getting an overall feeling that IQ is very similar between the 40D and k10D. The main thing that attracts me to the Pentax is their Shake Reduction built into the body itself (which apparently works pretty well) and of course the price. The problem is that I do like my 40D but the 17-40's f/4 max is a bit slow for my indoor hand held shots, although it performs well in most other situations. I must admit that I get very good results straight out of the camera in the large Jpeg setting and don't need to do alot of PP, and when I shoot RAW, well, I assume the time it takes would be similar PP wise to the Pentax. To obtain a setup with IS and an f/2.8 aperture via Canon, I've got to spend $2,000 just for the 40D body and 1 lens (the 17-55IS). Whereas, for less than $1,000 I can have a k10D (SR built in) and a Sigma 18-50 f