Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-25-2012, 11:39 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
K-5 and ...

Hi, I'm new to Pentax. I was shooting Canon for a number of years, last one a had was 60d. I've decided to switch to Pentax, K-5, as I was looking for a smaller camera with a good low light performance, more ragget body was a definite plus as well. When I had my Canon I had a Sigma 24-70mm 2.8, I liked that lens a lot, but it was kind of pricy, $1099 + tax here in Canada. I love taking pictures of my kids, 5 and 2.5 years old, so a lot of action :-);

so assuming I would use a flash in doors, what lens would you recommend? I'm open to any suggestions, prims, zooms... Just not to pricy :-).

Thanks in advance for the advice.

02-25-2012, 11:53 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you use flash for indoor shots, I would recommend getting a hot-shoe mount flash because the built-in one has limited capability; you can get a third-party or used flash. As for the lens, I suggest getting the DAL 35/2.4 which is relatively inexpensive as you will find that faster lens with bigger aperture yields better results for indoor flash shots.
02-25-2012, 11:54 AM   #3
Site Supporter

The DA* 16-50 is a good indoor lens, well under $1099 too. The DA 17-70 is also good though it's f/4.. not a problem for the K-5 relative to other cameras though!

If it's a true bargain you seek, the 18-50 Sigma seems to get good reviews: f/2.8-4.5, HSM silent focus, and $200 - for the price that will be hard to beat. Sigma and Tamron have 17-50s that stay at f/2.8 for a bit more cash. Check the Lens Reviews here to see if any of those speak to you.
02-25-2012, 12:00 PM   #4
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by vrubel Quote
so assuming I would use a flash in doors, what lens would you recommend? I'm open to any suggestions, prims, zooms... Just not to pricy :-).