Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-26-2012, 02:57 PM   #1

going to buy a used K10D, because ... , is it a good decision ?

Hi all,

I have been checking different DSLR cameras for a few years, and instead I bought canon S95 last year, because I could not find sharpness that I like in any new DSLR with average lenses.

I have been reading reviews on K5 and D7000 for a few weeks, and despite all pros and cons, when I check samples available online, I can not find the sharpness that I expect in either. Indeed, this is the case for all other
cameras, T2i, NEX, kx, etc.

I did some search regarding this, and I think there are two reasons for this. First, on monitors (mine is a glossy 21.5") images larger than 10MP can not be shown well, since they should be changed in size to fit in the screen.
It looks like only in large prints the advantage of more MP can be seen. The other probable reason is CCD vs CMOS sensors.

I think both are true, since D40 images look much better (sharper) on my screen than those from D7000, the same for K10D vs kx or K5.

I do not have any lenses, so all brands will work for me, but after checking thousands of photos (mostly macro and close up) on flickr, I have reached the conclusion that no other camera than K10D delivers sharper and focused
results on my LCD monitor.

On the othert hand, it is a really old camera, not great in low light, no live view, small screen, kinda heavy and very expensive (new) and used ones are almost the same price as other new DSLRs.

So while I like results of K10D the most, I can not make my decision final to buy it (used).

Plese let me know your opinions and if there are any way that I can get same sharp results on my screen from other cameras.

Thanks a lot.

02-26-2012, 03:03 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums