Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-07-2012, 10:35 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Balance between a teaching camera and a backup camera for my K-5

I have this notion of getting a second body to go with my K-5 that will, in theory, serve two purposes. On the one hand I see it as a second body on those occasions when I want to shoot an event and having two cameras would help. On the other hand, I have this "dream" of taking my kids on outings and teaching them a bit about photography (they are aged 12 and under). Maybe it is all an excuse for LBA.

In any event, I had the chance to buy a K100 with kit lens for about $200. It was very tempting, but every time I looked at the specs relative to my K-5, I knew I'd never be happy using it. I have very little knowledge of earlier Pentax DSLR other than what I've read, because my purchase of a K-5 was a bit unexpected (started out as a trip to buy a higher end P&S and then the budget kind of grew exponentially). And there is only so much you can learn from reading specs - it isn't until you have a camera in your hand that you realize which buttons were mis-placed, or if the grip is the right shape etc.

So based on the collective experience here, what would you recommend? One thing I've noticed, at least for Toronto based sellers, is that the price for a used K-x seems to be lower than I'd expect for a relatively recent camera, but the prices for K10, K20 still seem to be quite high.

Thanks in advance - I spend far too much time on these forums because it is such a fun place and I get to learn a lot.

03-07-2012, 10:38 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

A "teaching camera" would be something like a K1000 film camera.
Buy a back up for your K5. From a user POV, a DSLR is a DSLR is a DSLR. They are all equally complex.
03-07-2012, 10:42 AM   #3
MSL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster