Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2008, 10:01 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Help with White Balance

Hey guys (gals): Sorry if this has been written about previously. I am new to Pentax and bought a new K10D. I have found the automatic white balance to be simply awful. I do try to shoot RAW. Sometimes, though, I want to shoot jpegs for smaller size. Even with RAW the image on review still reflects the present white balance setting. I know it can be corrected in PP. I have found though for me that seeing an image with a grossly off white balance, clouds my ability to review the images. I suspect that it is me and the newness of the the Pentax system. But, I would appreciate any help/suggestions or steps that you take to optimize the white balance.

Mark

01-07-2008, 10:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Don't use the auto white balance. I'm not sure what else you need to know. The in camera settings aren't too bad, they usually work well enough for me. Sunny if it is daylight, then cloudy and shady as you get a little less sunlight, the different fluorescent settings in those lighting situations, tungsten for regular light bulbs, flash for using with a flash, and then there is the custom setting I haven't used this, so I don't know how accurate it is, but you just need a little WB card and take a shot of it and it will set your white balance for you. What else did you need to know?
01-08-2008, 12:26 AM   #3
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by ramzey Quote
I have K10D too
When Outdoor and sunshine,K10D has almost perfect autowhite balance than Canon or Nikon.
If indoor or not bright environment, I think maybe not good enough. I will take raw when a hope to have a perfect photo.
01-08-2008, 12:33 AM   #4
Veteran Member