Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
03-25-2012, 07:21 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Which Pentax body for IR conversion?

Playeed with friends IR modified drebel. Now I need some IR magic. Have a K10D, K20D, and K-7 ( my top camera at the moment). Which would you modify for infra red and why?
Thanks
barondla

03-25-2012, 08:22 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I'm no expert, but if it were me, I'd convert my 'lesser' camera....in this case theK10d?
03-25-2012, 11:39 PM   #3
Zav
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I would say the K10
03-26-2012, 01:00 AM   #4

Photos: Albums
On K20 and K-7 you have live view which could be a benefit when composing IR.

I guess that you know what you are doing and you know the price of it. I wanted to play with IR as well, and found out that far cheaper way was to get a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H9 (a night mode enabled camera) and remove the microswitch telling the camera that night mode is enabled. Then I just added a 720nm infrared filter in front and I have an IR camera with all settings available for under 200$. I do have some problems with image quality on extreme zooms, and some hotspots when shooting towards light sources, but still it was a rather cheap and affordable way to try IR photography.

03-26-2012, 11:28 AM   #5

Me,too!

Stanislav, can you describe the mechanics of the switch disablement? I have a V3 I want to convert and haven't yet decided which way to go with it. The V3, being older, may well be totally different inside from your camera but if it points me in the right direction it would be a help.

BFN
David
03-26-2012, 03:11 PM   #6

Well here is a link that I saw before i bought the camera second-hand on the ebay: