Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-02-2012, 05:56 PM   #1

K-5 or K-x with focus filter?

Hi,

I am a DSLR newbie, having bought a K-X last year, and am still trying to get my skill level up(recently started shooting manual mode exclusively). One problem I have with K-X is that sometime my center focus seems to go left or right of the spot that I think I am focusing on, especially for items that might be more than 20-25 ft away. I tested the lens to make sure the focusing is not off.

I noticed that some of my friend's canon cameras had a 'dot' at the center of the viewfinder, and found that helped to improve my accuracy. Then I saw that K-5, among its many other improved features, has this sort of center focus dot. So I was about to buy one, but then ran across a craigslist post about a 'focusing screen' for K-X. I googled that, and found it it might be the thing that might help me to get some more milage from the K-X.

So my questions is

1. Am I correct that focusing screen will help me with K-X, in terms of making sure my focus is correct( I don't do manual focusing, almost always AF)

2. would you suggest adding this focusing screen to my K-X (about $80-100), or should I buy a new K-5($1000). Actually, price is not as much of a consideration, I am thinking will I be able to use all the features of K-5, or is K-X good enough to last me another year or two?

Thanks!

04-02-2012, 06:17 PM   #2
Forum Member

I don't think the K-5 has a focusing screen. If you're planning on buying the K-5, i suggest getting the K-01. It has the same sensor as the K-5 and focus peaking, which is a great help for MF. If you plan on using many manual focus lenses, then I would suggest a focusing screen, but imo, it gets annoying if you plan on using just AF most of the time.
04-02-2012, 06:22 PM   #3
Veteran Member