Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
04-10-2012, 07:35 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Is it possible to have a perfect RAW photo?

Is it possible to have a perfect RAW photo? Or does it have to be fiddled with (white balance ect) when its converted to JPEG?
And also do we rely too heavily on post processing and consider it normal?

I started playing with film cameras again, suddenly all the DSLR stuff I take for granted now seems rather fiddly. Do they actually design the camera to produce a perfect RAW image so long as the exposure is correct, or is it deliberately intended to be adjusted either by the camera or PP afterwards?

I seem to recall correctly framing the photo when I took it rather than rotating or cropping after and getting the exposure right the first time to be standard procedure back in the day, no color adjustments necessary. With digital I feel like I've gotten lazy and sloppy all of a sudden.

04-10-2012, 07:43 PM   #2
MSL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Great question. I sometimes wonder whether we are supposed to view RAW images or just use them as a starting point for tinkering. It may not even need that much post processing - or as others have noted in other posts the in camera may do enough without further tinkering, but it seems that most images need something to get them back to what we were viewing before we took the picture. That said - I never processed my own color negs or prints, so I don't know how much tinkering the average person did in the darkroom, or when working with a developer. I know on a few occasions I got them to tweak the dials a certain way to enhance the images - and I suppose that too qualifies as post-processing.

I'm looking forward to seeing further replies.
04-10-2012, 07:56 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter