Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
04-30-2012, 06:26 AM   #31
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K7 rocks!

QuoteOriginally posted by RonHendriks1966 Quote
Well I have to agree that the K-7 isn't up for modern challenge, but I always feld that my K-7 was far more superior to the K-x (no matter what all others think and say).

With the K-7:
wow! excellent image
I had and used KX for ~ 2 years predominantly with Sigma 17-70 2.8-4.5 Macro ( love that lens) and occasionally big plasticky Canon's DSLR's at work and I was very happy. I am just an amateur with a day job.
One day there was K7 on this forum going at good price and located in AU, was on its way to me the next day and....
the moment I touched it, the completely different class of camera, just glued to ma hand by itself, perfect ergonomics , well balanced ,so many extra controls and all in the right places, perfect body design! The smile on my face just wouldn't go away....but the battery.
KX did not get much use after that, although I still have it always in my car with Sigma 17-70 ( another one ) and spare set of Lithium AA's ( can take 800+ shots) as a very reliable back-up,
Yes, the battery is the only my complain about K7 ( why not AA???) , nether the less it is joy to use.
Then came the Q , which complicated everything badly, what to keep and what to sell?
Had to go to Europe for 6 weeks, Family matter, took just the Q, took over 3000 photos, , never really missed KX or K7 but I did miss Sigma's 17-70 and 10-20 and the battery....you need at least 4 for day photo-walk.
All those Pentax cameras are extremely capable of taking enjoyable pictures but you have to learn first how to fine tune them to your requirements.
They all are like musical instruments, they need to be fine tuned and learn by the users how to take the full advantage of their capabilities.