Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-09-2012, 10:28 PM   #46

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Laurentiu Cristofor Quote
If you want a retro styled camera that looks like a thin old SLR, the E-M5 provides exactly that.
I tried the E-M5 the other day—I enjoyed the feel of it. I'm not a fan of electronic viewfinders at all, and I'm not the biggest fan of the m4/3 lenses at the moment. It did, however, have an excellent feel to it. (I'm no expert on the matter, though.)

No one makes a digital rangefinder but Leica. And they almost went bankrupt following their nostalgic strategy. I can see them making money off their lenses, but I don't see them selling a lot of cameras with what they are providing in them.
I was under the impression Leica was doing well with their latest entries. I remember the fiasco after the M8 IR sensitivity issues…I don't remember them going "almost bankrupt" over the digital M-series, but I'm no expert on that matter either.

I won't pursue the matter further…

05-09-2012, 10:40 PM   #47
Veteran Member

Here is what I think Pentax should make :

1) a follow-up to the K200D :

Ie. an updated affordable APS-C body, taking AA batteries (or hybrid Lion/AA like the K-r), weather-sealed, with a grip option, DC power connector (without stupid coupler), cable release connector. The last one of which I miss dearly on the K-r which replaced my K200D.

Add to that 1080p HD video, mic input for audio, and an articulated screen to go with it, and an updated sensor at least as good as the K-r in terms of ISO and MP. Maybe 16 to 20 MP.

2) an FF body

Same as above, plus have a 24 or 36 MP sensor to take full advantage of FF.
Add some AF for video, and 4K video, built-in GPS so flash can still be used.
05-09-2012, 11:01 PM   #48
Veteran Member

Pen digital styling is very strongly influenced by the Pen film cameras. The "Pen" name is no accident.
05-09-2012, 11:06 PM   #49
Pentaxian