Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-02-2012, 05:18 AM   #1
Veteran Member

K-r : Live View focus, AF & manual

I am fairly new to Live View, as I had been shooting with the K200D for 4 years which did not feature it. My mother has that camera now, and I have a K-r.

I am having a few issues with live view .

1) AF in Live view mode.

With the K-r, I have noticed that the AF is extremely slow in live view. With my 50mm/1.7, starting with the focus ring on infinity, I have seen it turn the focus ring 3 times, and take 3 seconds to focus at a distance of about 12ft.

In low light, it's not just slow. Not only does it turn 3 times, it ends focusing completely wrong - at 45cm . It just never achieves proper focus no matter how I try.

I had to read the manual to figure out that the AF method can be changed to Phase Difference for Liveview. But then Liveview is interrupted. However, it works far better. The Face Detection and Contrast Difference methods for Liveview AF are just too slow and inaccurate. What's even more confusing is that in Auto mode, it defaults to Face detection and cannot be changed ! And that performs really poorly in low light. A few weeks ago when I first got the camera, I decided to use Liveview in a dark restaurant. Every single picture was out of focus Even the few that I tried to take with flash, before the restaurant owner told us to stop. And my partner was extremely upset at the green AF assist lamp light in his face for so long, too ! All for naught - I never got him in focus at all !.

This seems to be an algorithm issue with the Face Detection and Contract Difference.
I am surprised that the problem happened even with my fastest AF lens, the Pentax-F 50mm/1.7.
I just tried to raise the ISO, thinking it might help the AF Liveview, but the accuracy did not improve - still wrong focus. My default auto ISO is up to 1600. But even at ISO 25600 it still couldn't AF correctly.