Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-31-2012, 07:25 AM   #61
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The end product for photos are prints of various formats: photo books, canvases, calendars, etc. the computer screen is the intermediate medium, used primarily to assist with the PP process.

12-31-2012, 07:56 AM   #62

The end product for photos are prints of various formats..>>

This seems a very sweeping statement. I'm an author and I'm getting used to the fact that young people increasingly read books on computer screens of various types. Orchestras are now using computer screens instead of scores. I think we have to reckon on a computer screen not as an intermediate medium but an end medium. This is not entirely new - some serious film photographers used to take slides and view their work predominantly on high quality projectors. That's not a print medium either.
12-31-2012, 09:16 AM   #63
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Ash Quote
The end product for photos are prints of various formats: photo books, canvases, calendars, etc. the computer screen is the intermediate medium, used primarily to assist with the PP process.
I agree, Ash, certainly in a classic sense. I like to think of the ultimate highest regard for a photo as a printed product, and that is where the resolution may be most important, at least to a point (depending on desired printed size and viewing distance). Sadly, I hardly ever print, so most photos are viewed only on a screen. Even a full high def TV is only 2 MP, so I tend to also agree with another poster above that resolution mostly only gives you room to crop severely.
12-31-2012, 01:51 PM   #64
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery