Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-06-2012, 02:59 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Need some advice - new camera

Hey All,

My wife and I are having our second kid in the next couple weeks so I was thinking of upgrading my K100D to a newer model. I'm not an expert by any means in photography or equipment but have been very pleased with the camera I have. The reason I want to "upgrade" is due to the shutter speed, megapixels and low light capabilities (plus the idea of a dSLR taking video is pretty enticing). Anyway - I'm thinking I can get anywhere from $150 - $200 for the K100D with the stock lense and will have roughly $550 - $600 to spend. I don't mind buying used at all. Can you guys give some direction of which models of Pentax I should be looking at? Would it be better to spend $400 on a body and then buy a $200 lense?

Much appreciated - George

07-06-2012, 03:26 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi. Not to burst your bubble, but I don't know exactly what lenses you own, and if they would make a body upgrade worth it. If you only have the kit lens, simply upgrading to the latest body probably won't make you notice much better IQ (image quality). I personally have a K-x, with live view and video, but to be honest, I use the video maybe less than once a month. It isn't that great either, still has jello effect and weird sounds due to SR, you won't have AF, so it looks more like a gimmick.