Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-24-2008, 06:57 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Why I'll Keep My K10D

I bought my K10D right after Christmas for $509.00 after rebate and I really wrestled with that decision with the new models coming out a month later. Well, I made a good decision (for me, anyway) and here's why:
1. I don't need more megapixels, 10 is plenty.
2. I'm pretty happy with IQ
3. No major improvement in AF (speed, accuracy, or tracking moving objects). This would have been a BIG selling point for me.
4. No practical improvement in FPS. 5-6 FPS at full resolution would also have been nice.
5. K10D already is a better camera than I am a photographer.
6. Don't need live view
7. I bought the K10D for build quality, user interface,shake reduction, and price and on these points it delivers.
8. Did I mention the price!

No doubt the K20D will probably get great reviews, but I will be waiting for the next iteration to address AF and FPS. Meanwhile, I'll be taking lots of great shots with my K10D.

01-24-2008, 07:12 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Same here, though I even passed on upgrading from the KHundredD to the KTenD for $509. Though the price was tempting, even the 10 had nothing compelling for my shooting style. Rats. Maybe next time.
01-24-2008, 07:17 PM   #3
edl
Veteran Member

Agreed. I also picked up the K10D for $509 after rebate last month. Even if you compare it to the K200D...why spend more for a pentamirror viewfinder?

If I was in the market right now, I'd still go pick up a K10D...it delivers tons of value.

Last edited by edl; 01-24-2008 at 07:26 PM.
01-24-2008, 07:22 PM   #4
Veteran Member

i am actually kinda happy having gotten the 10d in october, amid rumors of new and exciting cameras on the horizon

i am happy because my luck is usually such that i will buy one thing, and very soon thereafter, i will wish i had waited for the latest and greatest