Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
07-26-2012, 10:59 AM   #31
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Outgrown? I doubt it. I bought a K10D 5 1/2 years ago and a K5 9 months ago. Probably 80% of the various settings and modes remain unused in both. I use both bodies on a regular basis. I have other cameras available to me (my daughter has a Nikon and a Canon). Nothing wrong with them at all but I prefer to shoot with my Pentax bodies. If I was a pro who used a flash a lot, I might look at the other guys but hardly ever use my flash and it does what I need.

07-26-2012, 11:07 AM   #32
Pentaxian

I'm really curious... how would outgrowing a K-10 be equivalent to outgrowing Pentax? Pentax released the K-5 hoping you'd outgrown your K-10.
07-26-2012, 11:09 AM   #33
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by eddie1960 Quote
A friend of mine who is a pro shot with w 20 D until last year when she finally picked up a 5d2, Like me she would shoot some live events. she invariably would resort to flash though unless prohibited (and shows where it is prohibited also tend to be large show with good lights so less of an issue)
you couldn't place your images with Getty now with a camera like the 20d or D70 (or D200) they use the camera type as a defacto filter now
Did Ansel Adams use a good enough camera for Getty? I love some of these restrictions from big companies. Quality photos only come from X, Y, Z equipment is just very demeaning to the skills needed to be an outstanding photographer. I guess the assumption (and we know about those) is that if you are really a "real photographer" you'll have "real" equipment.....and so it goes.
07-26-2012, 11:26 AM   #34
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Docrwm Quote