Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2012, 08:01 AM   #1

K-x or k-01?

Hi guys! I am new to photography and would like decide on my first serious camera. After searching around, i narrow down to the k-x but seeing price for the k-01 from singapore, i wonder would it be a better choice? just 530SGD for the body. I guess i would be doing alot on street and landscape photography.

Or should i really just save alittle for the new k-30? would that be a overkill as a first dslr? I was thinking of the k-r as well but was taken alittle back after hearing all the issues from the k-r owners. Any suggestions?

08-10-2012, 08:09 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Are you interested in action photography at all, or do you care for a viewfinder? If so, I'd get a K-x over the K-01. If not, then the K-01 is better in most other respects, although I don't think a K-30 would be overkill at all as it's even easier to use thanks to its second scrollwheel!
08-10-2012, 08:20 AM   #3

Photos: Albums
I think the K-30 would be a brilliant beginner's camera. Pentax doesn't have the touchy-feely friendly walkthrough guide modes that Canon and Nikon reportedly do, but if you can spend five minutes reading about photographic fundamentals, you should be fine.

The K-x is quite dated. I was looking at it but went for the newer K-r at the time, though I really want to upgrade to the 30, 5 or whatever comes next (am waiting for announcement of the K-5's successor). But really, the K-30 would be a great bit of kit for the price. Definitely not overkill at all. I think you'd be really pleased with it as it won't have quite the same limitations as the entry level bodies (WR, two wheels, better sensor).
08-10-2012, 08:24 AM   #4
Pentaxian