Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-21-2012, 10:10 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Manual Focusing Light Aid?

Has this been done before? My idea is that the DSLR lights up its green focusing light to be a sorts of focusing aid when manual focusing. I'm usually getting 70% accuracy during daytime, 30% accuracy during low-light, and you can just forget accuracy during no light. I know there's such thing as a distance scale, but I'm not good at it.

I doubt Pentax would have any troubles putting a trigger to turn the light on: It has the DoF preview, Raw/FX, green button, and even better, the AF button.

Now for turning the light off: you could hold the trigger until it is in focus, then you let it go. You could do a toggle. Or it could automatically turn off during a half press. (Or delay the shutter by a millisecond)

Actually, now that I mentioned that, why not turn it on during a half-press and then off when the shutter button's fully pressed? Kinda like what happens when you autofocus, but you're the AI.

Also, since there's a better contrast between the foreground and background, I guess the AF confirm will work even better?

I'm saying this because I buy manual lenses (tight budget but awesome lenses), and it would be nice if I could manually focus better. And since Pentaxians love old manual lenses, I think this would be a great contribution to the love.

08-21-2012, 11:15 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

I idea has definitely been brought up before, and I don't think it would be hard to implement at all, but I don't think Pentax is going to invest any time in developing features specifically for manual lens users. If they wanted to, they could make it so that manual lenses automatically stop-down to meter before shooting, yet they haven't made any changes to the manual shooting process since the ist D came out.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)