Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-27-2012, 03:20 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Finally got my K-x sensor clean

I hadn't removed the lens that was on the camera but as I made a series of photos of the Space Shuttle flyover a week or so ago at the Lawrence Hall of Science in Berkeley, when the planes came into view and I started shooting, suddenly there was a load of dust on the sensor (I only saw this later when viewing the photos with my computer's display). Maybe angling the camera up 20-30 degrees caused dust inside to suddenly rest on the sensor, is all I can think. I later looked at a previous shoot I made on Sept. 1, photos in the 100's, with the same lens on there, I'd never removed the lens before the Shuttle shoot, and I could see absolutely no specks.

Did some googling, read some threads. I tried conservative methods first, but they weren't working and I was at the end of my rope, if this didn't work it was time to get a kit or at least some kind of device to actually touch the sensor, something I want to avoid if possible. I tried these:

1. Sensor shake (no real help)

2. Blasting the sensor with my Giotto dust blower (numerous times, between which I took photos and inspected). This got rid of most of the dust, but 3 specks remained, far from inconspicuous.

3. I tried using Dust-Off duster (triggered gas from liquid in a can, from Costco, being careful not to angle the straw down). A couple of blasts on the sensor did not dislodge the last few stubborn spots. I tried again, this time blasting much more thoroughly, the tip closer to the sensor. If that didn't work, something to touch the sensor would be necessary, I figured. But that did it!

I don't change lenses a ton. I wonder if I should use a blower or the canned gas when I change lenses just to blow out any dust that would be in the camera body.

09-27-2012, 05:36 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Hi Muse.