Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-03-2012, 02:11 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Recommendations on equipment for weddings?

Looking for advice on a list of equipment that would be of bare necessity on a budget for a wedding and advice on what one would charge that would be just starting out. I've never done it before, and although I think it would be alot of work and a bit stressful I think it would be fun at the same time. Any advice would be appreciated from those wedding photographers that are experienced out there. Thank you

11-03-2012, 02:26 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm no full timer in the field but I can say from my own experience that you must have both the right equipment as well as the knowledge and skill to be able to use it. There is no correct formula for the type of gear that is right for you or your style of wedding but a couple of bodies with a couple of fast zooms, a couple of reliable flashes (not necessarily PTTL), and plenty of spare batteries are highly recommended.
11-04-2012, 08:59 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
not negotiable:-
2 x bodies
2 x dedicated any brand flash lights
1 x 24-70 f2.8
1 x 70-200 f2.8
1 x tripod.
spare cards do not use bigger than 8gb
spare camera batteries
boxes of spare flash batteries , even if you use rechargeable AA bats
sensible bags to back kit in.
signed contact for the job
payed in full

nice extras:
1 x assistant
1 x fast 50mm
1 x fast 100mm
1 x monopod
1 x flash meter
2 x light stands with manual flash and radio triggers
reflectors
plastic sheet for couples to sit on.
sensible huge bag to pack all the kit in.

you need to know :
it goes with out saying your how to use your kit and manual flash
knowledge how to tie bow ties
knowledge how to pin corsages
knowledge how to calm jittery brides
knowledge how to deal with bridezillas