Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-05-2012, 08:09 PM   #1
Inactive Account

50mm

I am new to the photography world I am looking for a 50mm lens for my Pentax K20.

I know that Pentax came out with a 50mm lens this past summer ($250). I was wondering if anyone knew of another 50mm lens (maybe a little less expensive) that would be compatible with my camera. I am wanting to take portrait type photos and indoor photos ... and from what I understand I need a 50 mm.

Any help would be great!
Thanks.

11-05-2012, 08:28 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Get a used A 50mm F1.7- it's manual focus, but well under $100.
SMC Pentax-A 50mm F1.7 Reviews - A Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

Here's one for $59 on our Marketplace:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/photographic-equipment-sale/202033-sale-p...f1-7-caps.html

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
11-05-2012, 10:55 PM   #3

Photos: Albums
M 50mm F2 can always be found cheap.
11-05-2012, 11:10 PM   #4

Photos: Gallery
keep in mind that the above lenses will not automatically focus, but you'll have to manual focus them.

Alternatively, you can try to find a 50mm Pentax-F or Pentax-FA (either f1.7 or f1.4). These allow to autofocus but they might be slightly more expensive.

If you are not into manual focusing, I will recommend you to save some money and go either for the new released lens or one of the above.

11-05-2012, 11:36 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums