Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 7 Likes Search this Thread
12-25-2012, 07:52 AM   #76
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Did anyone mention the green button yet? That thing is a gem.

12-25-2012, 04:20 PM   #77
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
It's All About the IQ

QuoteOriginally posted by slip Quote
If Nikon or Canon ever put shake reduction in their bodies instead of the lenses, I would seriously think of changing brands (Sony has it but I don't like their high ISO performance)

What would make you consider changing?

Just a discussion, not flaming Pentax In general

As usual, any and all options matter!

Thanks

Randy
I have been shooting Pentax since 1978, and I do have a lot of glass and other stuff I have accumulated over the years that helps to keep me from jumping ship for another brand, but for me it is the fact that Pentax has a primary focus on image quality.

They manage to squeeze every last drop of IQ out of the equipment, and if that means falling behind a little in other areas, that's ok.

I think that this focus is really a focus on the joy of photography, and that shows up in many ways, from great ergonomics to quirky and innovative products like pancake lenses, retro-mod designs like the K01, all metal lenses like the LTD series. Unlike the big two, Pentax does not seem to be mass-market driven where features and design decisions are all about market position and how the product plays in the lineup. The big two just do not take any design risks or do anything all that interesting, although they do make excellent gear that gets the job done, no question.