Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-19-2012, 04:43 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Disappointing Results- Is it time to upgrade to K5ii ?

I've been using a K20D for the last several years and have generally been pretty happy with it. However, last night I shot my son's swimming event, and the results were pretty poor. I really don't think any of them were "keepers", and so I'm scratching my head- is it a lens problem, or perhaps sports photography is just not the K20D's forte?

I used both the DA*50-135, but more so the DA*300. Lighting at these high school pools is usually pretty dismal, and the best I could do for most of the shots was around 1/60, f4, and ISO 1250. I know that is way too slow a shutterspeed for such an activity, but the K20D gets really noisy at high ISO; I did use a monopod for the most part. It seemed to be a "perfect storm" of issues for both exposure and autofocus. I have used these lenses at outdoor events and had very little problem. Compared to the Tamron 70-200 I once had, their AF seems quite a bit slower. Results from last night were just not sharp at all, with lots of noise, although I did get better results (not always!) once I started using flash.

So I'm wondering, is it the lenses, or the camera? Has the K20D met its limitations for this type of use? Would a K5ii breathe new life into these DA* lenses? I've been wanting to upgrade anyway, but this might help push me in that direction sooner.

12-19-2012, 05:10 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Well, if you're planning on shooting low light scenarios a lot, the K-5II is about two stops better for "Acceptable" Noise levels. Sure would make a difference, especially considering you'd have more pixels for that nice glass to resolve.

That said, if you're going to upgrade, I highly doubt anyone will recommend otherwise.
12-19-2012, 05:11 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums