Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2013, 02:54 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Which Adaptall II adapter for K10D

I am new to Pentax and recently purchased a used K10D body, I have a number of MF Tamron SP lenses that I would like to use on this body in the Auto Aperture Mode, Searching the auctions and KEH I see some Tamron Adaptall II adapters with electrical contacts, that are quite expensive, while the others without are not. I am assuming those with the contacts are for Tamron SP auto focus lenses. Am I correct that the cheaper standard focus Adaptall II will allow the Tamron MF lens to operate in the AE mode on the K10D?

01-07-2013, 03:04 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I don't think there is such a thing as "Tamron Adaptall adapter for autofocus lenses." All of them are for manual focus lenses. I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

To use Av mode, you need a lens, or an adapter, with electrical contacts.

There are ways to use lenses without electrical contacts in Av mode (e.g. not attaching it all the way to meter in stop down mode), but I found them cumbersome.
01-07-2013, 03:10 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Adaptall

There are two kind of Adaptalls for Pentax

1. Just the regular adaptall 2 that make the lens behave like a K or M lens.
There is a K.M and the P/K mount one.
Prices for this goes from $10 - $50. Average price is $20-$30 all depending on condition of the adapter.

2. There is an adaptall 2 with the Electrical contacts. It makes any Tamron Adaptall 2 lens behave as the Pentax-A lenses.
It says in the mount as PK/A.
Prices for this goes from $50 - $135. Average price is $75-$80 all depending on condition of the adapter.

There is not such things as AF adaptall.

I always recommend the PK/A version since the aperture can be used.

I have the K.M., the P/K and the PK/A

I hope it helps.
01-07-2013, 03:26 PM   #4